Skip to main content


December 11, 2013 | Gold & Platinum

New Albums Notch Top Gold & Platinum Awards

Justin Timberlake, Lady Antebellum & Tim McGraw Certify New Albums * Big Sean, Cassadee Pope & Ylvis Earn First G&P Awards * Jay Z Receives Ten New Song Certifications

WASHINGTON – Three celebrated 2013 album releases certified Recording Industry Association of America (RIAA) Gold or Platinum this fall, according to the RIAA’s October and November Gold & Platinum Program certifications tallies.

He’s bringing Platinum back!  Justin Timberlake’s “The 20/20 Experience 2 of 2” (RCA Records) certified both Gold & Platinum for selling more than one million copies in less than two months this fall.  The album’s “1 of 2” counterpart is currently certified 2x multi-Platinum.

Southern crooners Lady Antebellum and Tim McGraw each earned Golds for their respective 2013 albums “Golden” (Capitol Nashville) and “Two Lanes of Freedom” (Big Machine, Inc.).  The Gold album awards mark Lady A’s career fifth and Tim McGraw’s career fourteenth to date!

RIAA awarded rap duo Macklemore and Ryan Lewis with their first Platinum album award for “The Heist” (Macklemore, 2012) while their song “Thrift Shop” (feat. Wanz) soared to 7x multi-Platinum, “Can’t Hold Us” (feat. Ray Dalton) secured 4x multi-Platinum and “Same Love” (feat. Mary Lambert) certified 2x multi-Platinum.

Kudos to Fleet Foxes and Jake Owen for taking home their first Gold album awards this fall.  The Gold plaques went to “Fleet Foxes” (Sub Pop, 2008) and “Barefoot Blue Jean Night” (RCA Nashville, 2011) respectively.

Detroit rapper Big Sean, pop-country songstress Cassadee Pope and Norwegian musical comedy duo Ylvis each earned their first Gold digital single awards (counting download sales and on-demand streams).  Big Sean earned his for “Beware” (G.O.O.D. Music/Def Jam Recordings), Pope for “Wasting All These Tears” (Republic Nashville) and Ylvis for “The Fox (What Does The Fox Say?)” (WM Norway).

Many of music’s hottest artists earned Platinum song awards this fall: Nettwerk Music Group singer-songwriter Passenger for “Let Her Go,” Valory Music country singer Thomas Rhett’s “It Goes Like This,” Columbia Nashville crooner Tyler Farr’s “Redneck Crazy,” Atlantic rapper Lupe Fiasco’s “Battle Scars” (feat. Guy Sebastian), Columbia heartthrobs One Direction’s “Best Song Ever” and Atlantic group Zac Brown Band’s “Knee Deep” and “Colder Weather.”

Roc Nation’s Jay Z earned ten separate songs awards this fall.  He earned a 4x multi-Platinum for “Ni**as In Paris” with Kanye West, a 2x multi-Platinum for “Holy Grail,” Platinums for “Dirt Off Your Shoulder,” “Big Pimpin’”and “Swagga Like Us,” plus Golds for “Show Me What You Got,” “03’ Bonnie & Clyde,” “Can I Get A…,” “Gotta Have It” and “Izzo (H.O.V.A.).”

RIAA awarded 10 album and 74 digital single certifications in October and November.  All certifications are calculated by Gelfand, Rennert & Feldman.  Complete lists of all album, single, mastertone and video awards can also be accessed at